Each year, the outstanding achievements and contributions of some of our remarkable teachers are recognised at the Vice Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Awards. The night celebrates the innovative learning and teaching practice of our Griffith educators. Over 150 staff and family and friends of award recipients joined in the celebration. Keep reading for a recap and photos of the night…

Griffith Internationalisation Awards

To kick off the award presentations, the recipients of Griffith Internationalisation Awards were acknowledged. Professor Sarah Todd, Vice President (Global), presented certificates to the winners of these awards – Professor Herman Van Eyken, who received the 2018 Most Outstanding Contribution to Overall Internationalisation award and Dr Heather Faulkner who received the 2018 Most Outstanding Contribution to the Development of Short Term Global Mobility Programs award.

2017 National Program Awards

The winners of 2017 National Program Awards were announced after our Award night last year, so winners of these awards were recognised at this year’s ceremony. Congratulations to the Griffith Bachelor of Midwifery Program team (Professor Jenny Gamble, Associate Professor Mary Sidebotham, Associate Professor Kathleen Baird and Ganeshan Rao) who received an Australian Award for Programs that Enhance Learning for their values-driven, future focussed, and woman-centred program that prepares graduates to be evidence-based practitioners and to envision maternity care for the future.

The Griffith Community Internship Program team, led by Carol-Joy Patrick, received an Australian Award for Programs that Enhance Learning for an innovative whole-of-university approach for developing our students’ employability and civic engagement. Catherine Longworth accepted the award on behalf of the team.

HEA Principal Fellows

Griffith’s 2018 Principal Fellows of the HEA (Higher Education Academy) were recognised at the awards night. Congratulations to all! Griffith’s 2018 Senior Fellows, Fellows and Associate Fellows were presented with their certificates at the Griffith Learning and Teaching Academy and HEA Fellowships Celebration Lunch during the week of Celebrating Teaching events.

Griffith Awards for Excellence in Teaching

The Griffith Awards for Excellence in Teaching recognise excellence and innovation in learning and teaching. Teaching Excellence Award recipients are nominated by their students and peers and selected on a range of sustained evidence demonstrating innovation, student centredness, rigorous evaluation and scholarship. Similarly, the Group Learning and Teaching Citations recognise excellence and innovation within the Academic Groups and are overseen by the Deans, Learning and Teaching.

Student Presentation

Our student speaker for the evening, Benita Sorenson, brought the house down with her presentation. Benita is a Bachelor of Laws/Bachelor of Government/International Relations and Diploma of Language (Spanish) and Griffith Honours College student.

With fellow Griffith students, Benita competed against 43 other university teams and won the Budapest Vis Pre-Moot in April 2017. The team went on to the main Vis event in Vienna where they placed in the top 16 of over 320 schools, eventually getting knocked out by Cambridge University. Benita’s team was the highest ranking Australian team in the competition.

Many thanks to Benita for sharing her inspirational story!

Vice Chancellor’s Teacher of the Year and Commendation

One of the most exciting parts of the night was the announcement of the winner of the Vice Chancellor’s Commendation and the winner of the Vice Chancellor’s Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to Dr Vinod Gopalan from the School of Medical Science and School of Medicine, who received the 2018 Vice Chancellor’s Commendation. Read the LF Press interview with Vinod to learn more about his teaching approaches and implementation of authentic and industry informed learning experiences for students.

Congratulations to Dr Taeko Imura from the School of Humanities, Languages and Social Science, who received the 2018 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Griffith University Teacher of the Year. Read the LF Press interview with Taeko, where she tells us a bit more about her teaching practice and the Learning Portfolio she has implemented in her courses.

Thanks to everyone who attended the awards night. We look forward to celebrating the achievements of Griffith’s remarkable educators with you in 2019.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.