The 2019 round of the Griffith Citations and Awards for Excellence in Teaching was launched by Professor Debra Henly, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) on Monday 25 March. The University’s awards scheme is one of a number of recognition pathways available to Griffith staff, and recognises outstanding learning and teaching practice and educational leadership.

The scheme allows staff to initially apply for a Group Learning and Teaching Citation before proceeding to a Griffith Award for Excellence in Teaching. We encourage you to consider submitting an application to receive recognition for your innovative work, and to enable us to share creative and successful learning and teaching practices across the University.

Keep reading for a brief overview of the schemes. Full details of these schemes and guidelines are available on the Citations and Awards websites.

Group Learning and Teaching Citations (DUE 27 May)
Up to 20 citations are awarded across the University to individual teachers, professional staff or teaching teams who make significant contributions to student learning; each with a professional learning grant of $2,000. For full details, see the Guidelines.

Nomination is not required for Citations.

Awards for Teaching Excellence (DUE 15 July)
In 2019 there are 15 awards, including three new award categories, each with a professional learning grant of $3,000. Awards may be made in the following categories:

  • Sessional Academic Staff;
  • Early Career;
  • Innovative Assessment;
  • Group Active Learning (4 awards, one for each of the Academic Groups);
  • Group Excellence in Teaching (4 awards, one for each of the Academic Groups); and
  • Group Educational Leadership (4 awards, one for each of the Academic Groups).

Further description of the categories and how to demonstrate claims of excellence are detailed in the Guidelines.

Nomination is required for Teaching Excellence Awards. Nominations are submitted online (by staff only).

Awards for Program Excellence (DUE 15 July)
Up to three awards, each with a professional learning grant of $4,000, may be made in the following areas:

  • Widening participation;
  • Educational partnerships and collaborations with other organisations;
  • Innovation and flexibility in curricula, learning and teaching;
  • Postgraduate education;
  • Student experiences and services supporting learning, development and growth in higher education; and
  • Global citizenship and internationalisation.

Nomination is not required for Program Awards.

How to apply
Applications should be submitted online via the Citations and Awards websites, using the following forms by 5:00pm on the due date:

The University provides substantial support for Citation and Award applicants through Learning Futures and the Academic Groups. Further information on the resources and online modules available to staff will be sent out in the coming weeks.

Best of luck with your application!