Congratulations to the winners of 2019 Griffith Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

The University will acknowledge these remarkable teachers at the Vice Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Awards to be held on Wednesday, 23 October at the Gold Coast as part of the Celebrating Learning and Teaching 2019 calendar of events. The announcement of the recipients of the Vice Chancellor’s Awards for the Griffith University Teacher of the Year and Education Leader of the Year will also be made on the night.

The awards scheme is always highly competitive and the quality of applications this year was again outstanding. Congratulations to all staff who were nominated by their students and peers, in recognition of their commitment to enhancing the quality of the student experience.

We look forward to sharing more about these award winning educators and their learning and teaching insights and innovations with LF Press readers over the coming months.

Excellence in Teaching – Group Excellence in Teaching Awards

Arts, Education and Law
Dr Lisbeth Kitson
School of Education and Professional Studies

Griffith Business School
Dr Tommy Soesmanto
Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics

Highly Commended

Dr Julienne Senyard
Department of Business Strategy and Innovation

Associate Professor Stephanie Schleimer
Department of Business Strategy and Innovation

Griffith Health
Dr Leanne Kenway
School of Medical Science

Highly Commended

Dr Armin Ariana
School of Medicine

Griffith Sciences       
Dr Ivan Gratchev
School of Engineering and Built Environment

Excellence in Teaching – Group Educational Leadership Awards

Professor Ruth McPhail
Department of Employment Relations and Human Resources     

Excellence in Teaching – Group Active Learning Awards

Teaching Team: Denise Hope and Associate Professor Gary Grant
School of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Jointly with

Melanie Roberts
School of Allied Health Sciences

Highly Commended

Dr Abdullah Karaksha
School of Medical Science

Excellence in Teaching – Priority Area Awards

Sessional Academic
Tim Newans
School of Allied Health Sciences

Highly Commended

Nina Ginsberg
Griffith English Language Institute

Bronwyn Reid O’Connor
School of Education and Professional Studies

Early Career
Dr Lacey Schaefer
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Programs and Teams that Enhance Learning Awards

The Kungullanji Program
Program Lead: Jennifer Campbell, Griffith Graduate Research School
Program Team: Bronwyn Wolski and Samantha de Lore, Indigenous Research Unit
Leah Henderson and Eden Little, Indigenous Research Unit/Kungullanji
Learning Assistance Officers, GUMURRII Student Support Unit

Highly Commended

Master of Training and Development     
Program Lead: Associate Professor Sarojni Choy, School of Education and Professional Studies
Program Team: Professor Stephen Billett, Dr Ray Smith, Dr Mark Tyler and Dr Steven Hodge, School of Education and Professional Studies

Health Group Foundation First Year Team
Program Leads: Dr Natalie Colson and Dr Helen Naug, School of Medical Science
Program Team: Associate Professor Roselyn Rose’meyer, Dr Abdullah Karaksha, Dr Avinash Kundur, Dr Leanne Kenway and Victoria Wheeler, School of Medical Science
Georgina Sanger, Mary-Ann Shuker, Ganeshan Rao, Office of the Dean (Learning and Teaching), Health