This post was contributed by Leigh Sawyer (Manager, Grants, Awards and Fellowships, Learning Futures).

Congratulations to the winners of 2018 Griffith Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The University will acknowledge these remarkable teachers at the Vice Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Awards to be held on Monday, 5 November at the Gold Coast.

Congratulations to all staff who were nominated by their students and peers, in recognition of their commitment to enhancing the quality of the student experience.

We look forward to sharing more about their learning and teaching insights and innovations with LF Press readers over the coming months.

Excellence in Teaching – Group Excellence in Teaching Awards

Arts, Education and Law
Dr Taeko Imura
School of Humanities, Languages and Social Science

Jointly with

Ashley Burgess
Griffith Film School

Griffith Business School
Dr Matthew Xerri
Department of Employment Relations and Human Resources

Highly Commended
Dr Julienne Senyard
Department of Marketing

Griffith Health
Dr Vinod Gopalan
School of Medical Science and School of Medicine

Jointly with

The Bioscience Team
Dr Matthew Barton, Dr Michael Todorovic and Grant Williams-Pritchard
School of Nursing and Midwifery

Excellence in Teaching – Priority Area Awards

Sessional Academic
Rebekah Strang
School of Education and Professional Studies

Highly Commended
Rawan Nimri
Department of Tourism, Sport and Hotel Management

Early Career
Highly Commended
Dr Elaine Yang
Department of Tourism, Sport and Hotel Management

Innovation in Technology Enhanced Learning

Highly Commended
Dr Karen Murphy
School of Applied Psychology

Denise Hope and Dr Gary Grant
School of Pharmacy and Pharmacology